The Daily Debater Blog celebrates all the Great Debaters out there - coaches, teachers, students, activists who are using the superpowers of speech and debate to make the world a better place.  We dedicate this blog to you! If you have any stories to share or if interested in joining a speech and debate team, or participating in our free tournaments, please visit us at Thanks! - Erik Fogel,


Debating at 2:00am!

Today we shout out the UIC John Marshall Law School, Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot and all the Moot Court Teams and Mooters out there!

The Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot is held once a year in Vienna, Austria and attracts debaters from over 400 law schools across the world.

However, because of the coronavirus outbreak, the Tournament was rescheduled to be online this year. The preliminary arguments took place April 4-7, with winners announced online on April 9th.

Because of the international time zone differences, the UIC John Marshall Law School Team had to debate after midnight.

“Our argument times were at 12:30 a.m., 1:30 a.m., 2 a.m. and 7 a.m. respectively,” said Hudson, an attorney at Chuhak & Tecson P.C. “We had our team on hype-up calls, all dressed up in their suits and full hair and makeup at midnight doing warm-up exercises and last-minute practices.”… During the first round, the team encountered technical difficulties, causing their arguments to start nearly an hour late….“Being alone, and competing in the middle of the night really required an even greater sense of teamwork and community for our group,” Hudson said….The John Marshall team competed against teams in Israel, Guatemala, Scotland and Italy during the preliminary rounds and had arbitrators calling in from the United Kingdom, Austria, Hong Kong, Jamaica and Canada….“It truly was a global effort to get the competition moved to the virtual platform so quickly and to get a quality experience for the students,” Hudson said. (

The final round saw the University of Freiburg vs. West Bengal National University of Juridical Science. West Bengal National University of Juridical Science ended up as the winners.

Congratulations to Everyone!



Final Round

Awards Ceremony

Problem Area